Californians will now need to take extra care to steer clear of cyclists.
Under statewide regulations taking effect Tuesday, drivers must give bikes a buffer zone of at least 3 feet while passing.
Cited violators will face a fine of $35, which could turn into $220 if a collision occurs in the buffer zone.
California Highway Patrol spokesman Officer Edgar Figueroa tells the Los Angeles Times (http://lat.ms/1uFgV9K ) that officers will be watching cars and cyclists and have been trained to gauge distances by sight during their training.
Cyclists may legally use a full traffic lane on California roads but must follow the same laws as cars, including stopping at red lights and stop signs.
California is the 24th states to enact the 3-foot passing law.
Information from: Los Angeles Times, http://www.latimes.com
via 3-foot buffer zones for cyclists takes effect across | The Press Democrat.